Meet Our Counties: Menifee

Key locations: Denniston, Frenchburg (county seat), Korea, Mariba, Means, Pomeroyton, Scranton, Sudith, and Wellington

Geography: Menifee County is situated within the Appalachian region of Kentucky and is known for its scenic landscapes. The county is part of the Daniel Boone National Forest.

Menifee County is bordered by Bath County (north), Rowan County (northeast), Morgan County (east), Wolfe County (south), Powell County (soutrhwest), Montgomery County (west).

History: Menifee County formed in 1869 from portions of Bath, Montgomery, Morgan, Powell, and Wolfe counties. Named after Richard H. Menefee, a U.S. Congressman from Kentucky.


1920 Population: 5,779
2020 Population: 6,502

Some research links:

Throughout 2024-2025, the Kentucky Genealogical Society will focus on the vibrant heritage of all 120 counties in Kentucky. Exploring the diverse tapestry of the Commonwealth, each month will feature profiles of five counties. These profiles will provide valuable historical resources for genealogical researchers to explore further. Join us as we embark on a journey to Meet Our Counties that form the heart of the Commonwealth!


About the Author

<h3><a href="" target="_self">KY Genealogical Society</a></h3>

KY Genealogical Society

Formed in 1973 to provide educational opportunities for family history researchers, the Kentucky Genealogical Society connects family historians in all of Kentucky's 120 counties.

Follow Us


Upcoming Events

Get Our Newsletter

Recent Posts

Is Your KY Ancestor in the Log Cabin?

Is Your KY Ancestor in the Log Cabin?

KYGS Member finds her family in The Log Cabin newspaper

You May Also Enjoy

Become a Member

Whether you are just starting out in your journey or are so experienced that librarians and record clerks know you by name, we offer Kentucky resources and support you can’t get anywhere else.