CARROLL COUNTY PUBLIC LIBRARY
3 0347 1001 56727



Cci 1069

Cove Hill Baptist Church Dates To Meeting Held In Log School

Cove Hill Baptist Church's origin dates to a meeting held in a log school house situated on the present church lot in the summer of 1873.

During this session, six additions were made to the tenative church, including the late H.V. Carlisle. With these six members and 21 from New Providence, Locust and Campbellsburg, the new Cove Hill Church was organized and established on October 6, 1873.

The council was presided over by Rev. J.V. Riley, moderator, and B.F. Wyatt, clerk. The church conducted its first business meeting, November 6, 1873 and Rev. L.S. Chilton preached the first sermon.

At this business meeting, Fielding Vories was chosen moderator, G.V. May, clerk and Henry Spencer and Andrew Jackson were elected as Deacons.

Rev. J.O. Anderson was the first pastor, serving about two years, and was followed by Rev. J.V. Riley. In 1874 the church applied for membership in the Sulphur Fork Association, remaining there until the White's Run Association was organized in Carroll County.

Rev. Clark Riley held the first revival meeting, resulting in five additions to the church. During the pastorate of Riley. Rev. John H. Vories was ordained to the ministry. The church has ordained three ministers--Vories, B.F. Wyatt and R.C. Allnut and granted license to Arkley Wright.

Several men have served as Moderators. H. Fielding Vories resigned Oct. 1, 1885; John R. Dawkins served until December 1, 1889; George A. Hayden resigned in March, 1894. He was succeeded by Rev. H. Boyce Taylor, who served for two years. In 1896, H.V. Carlisle was elected, serving for 10 years. William Poe was chosen and remained in office until his death in 1926 and was followed by Chester Clark.

Cove Hill Church has had about 40 pastors, Rev. L.S. Chilton served for 10 years. Other noted preachers who served the church included Revs. Clark Riley, J.S. Gatton, J.M. Fowler, H. Boyce Taylor, O.N. Huey, Dr. J.W. Porter, Dr. Bow, W.P. Harvey and E.W. Simpson.

This church is most active, having a membership at one time of much over 125. In recent years it has operated a church bus which gathers up those who have no other way to reach the services.

The present church building stands on an acre lot which was donated by Brother Fielding Vories. It is with pleasure that I submit a few facts as taken from the church records to the readers of The News-Democrat:

In the summer of 1873 a meeting was conducted in a log school room situated on the present church lot. There were six additions, the late H.V. Carlisle beingone. With these six members and 21 others from New Providence, Locust and Campbellsburg, the Cove Hill Baptist church was organized and established Odtober 6, 1873.

The council was presided over by Rev. J.V. Riley, moderator, and B.F. Wyatt, clerk. The new church conducted its first business meeting November 6, 1873. Rev. L.S. Chilton preached the first sermon.

At this meeting Bro. Fielding Vories was chosen moderator; G.V. May, clerk and Bro. Henry Spencer and Bro. Andrew Jackson was elected deacons. Bro. J.O. Anderson was the first pastor, serving about two years, followed by Bro. J.V. Riley.

In 1874 the church applied for membership in the Sulphur Fork Association remaining there until the Whites Run Association was organized in Carroll county.

Bro. Clark Riley held the first rivival meeting, resulting in five additions, the late Magruder being one of them.

During the pastorate of Bro. Riley, Bro. John H. Vories was ordained to the ministry. The church has ordained three ministers—J.H. Vories, B.F. Wyatt, and R.C. Allnutt, and granted license to Arkley Wright.

The church has had the following men as moderator: H. Fielding Vories, resigned October 1, 1885; John R. Dawkins, served until December 1, 1889; Bro. Geo. A. Hayden, resigned in March, 1894. He was succeeded by the Rev. H. Boyce Taylor, who served two years. In 1896 H.V. Carlisle was elected, serving 10 years. Wm. Poe was chosen and remained in office until his death in 1926. Bro. Chester Clark in the present moderator.

The church has had nine deacons during its history. There have been some 80 ministers who have filled its pulpit, 30 of whom have served as pastors.

Bro. L.S. Chilton, of sainted memory, was pastor for 10 years. Among the noted ministers who served the church may be found: Bros. Clark Riley, J.S. Gatton, J.M. Fowler, H. Boyce Taylor, O.N. Huey, Dr. J.W. Porter, Dr. Bow, W.P. Harvey. The present pastor, E.W. Simpson, is serving his ninth year.

During the 67 years of the church's history it has well served the community. It has had a large memvership, but at no time did the membership exceed 125. The church has a lot on which it stands and about one acre of ground, donated by Bro. Fielding Vories.

> সুষ্ঠান্ডাল্ডিল সমূচকা সুষ্ঠান্ডাল্ডিল

4.70°深度1927年452°多年5月8日5日安

every the filler and the light seemed to